Anonymous
map-marker London, Kentucky

Because they repeatedly ask for same stuff that me an fema reps have sent them

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Their rep they sent to look at damages said he couldnt go inside it was to muddy for his shoes I asked for anouther still have not seen one they got awful lot money to help us guess someones pockets got fat
View full review

User's recommendation: Don’t waste your time

Anonymous
map-marker San Jose, California

Land slide that cannot be stopped

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I was told to contact FEMA by my insurance company for help with this disaster because of rain. But they made me run around with phone calls and website but we got zero response from them.
View full review

User's recommendation: Don’t contact them

Anonymous
map-marker Wallingford, Connecticut

Covid 19 funeral help

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
First filed in April 2021 for my dad who died of covid, Sent everything by June yet got call to send the same things already that they have, told that I was right and they had everything they need and that they would be making a decision soon, 2 more calls thru the summer and same thing they have all they need and I am all set, I called Nov 3 2021 and still not reviewed and now they tell me maybe 3 to four more months our longer and that I might get an answer someday. Sent e-mail and compliant (got standard reply) to call help line I call helpline and they tell me they can not help me just that I am not allow and everyone is complaining. The Federal Emergency Mismanagement Agency is a joke and a bunch of scam artist
View full review
Cons:
  • Lack of concern for the public
  • Inability to answer relevant questions
  • Its the same reply each time

User's recommendation: never believe that the government will help it is just a scam maybe if I didn't work our pay taxes I might have heard something

Jeanna G

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

No help

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Fema - No help
Fema - No help - Image 2

I am a 61 year old woman who proudly takes care of her self despite slight handicaps .I had worked very hard to buy and maintain a home of my own. I had just gotten my home paid off when Irma hit.

I have sent written proof to FEMA so many times over the years proving the great devastation I have suffered. FEMA has received copies of the front page of our local paper with a picture of my home with my roof all over the yard. This seems to be undeniable evidence of hardship to me. I have also sent FEMA a written estimate from a professional contractor of all the damage to my home.

($ 68,000 was needed to repair it to safety) Is this not also undisputable proof? Why would FEMA ignore this evidence and just continue to say I only qualified for $1000 repairs? FEMA informs me that I did not receive help because the contractor's estimate was never validated by them. (His license number, and ALL pertinent information, IS on the estimate.

FEMA's excuse for not helping is that I am ineligible for additional assistance because my case is considered closed as the Individuals and Households Program for Hurricane Irma ended on March 10, 2019.

I do not understand. WHY did FEMA not help BEFORE the disaster was "Closed"? When I first made the claims?

WHY did FEMA inspectors ignore the severe damage before the contractor even had to make the estimate?

Obvious damage should have been acknowledged by FEMA Inspectors and well deserved help should have been offered then. I have suffered a great loss.

FEMA claims that funding provided by FEMA is intended to make sure that a home is safe and habitable.

Why is this not true for me?

Why would Beth Powell of FEMA email others saying, "Do not respond to Ms. Gray"? Why would FEMA claim that they DID try to contact me at first? I was desperately asking for help.

I would certainly have returned any alleged phone calls. I could not afford to repair my home to safety. I was forced to

relocate because it was inhabitable. I lost my home and am financially burdened now with a rent.

I am in tears.

I feel like FEMA is laughing at me.

I feel I am a criminal rather than a victim.

Beth Powell of FEMA

even emailed others to "please do not respond to Ms. Gray." I hope FEMA does not treat others with

the too bad, not sorry attitude they show me.

Jeanna Gray

GrayLines819@***.com

View full review
Loss:
$68

Preferred solution: Human Consideration

User's recommendation: Hoping FEMA is not this crel to others

Anonymous
map-marker Raleigh, North Carolina

MY IDENITY HAS BEEN COMPROMISED

Good Evening, I am reaching out to speak with someone IN regards to my identity has been compromised. Some one reach out to my Ex-Husband and stated that an application has been put in placed to apply for disaster funding using my name: Deborah Major Townsend, last four SS#: 3412 and the address: 1141 East Hortter Street, Philadelphia PA 19150 on 9/25/21. I DID NOT APPLY OR PLACE AN APPLICATION IN FOR FUNDING. I DO NOT LIVE IN PA. PLEASE DO NOT SEND ANY FUNDS OUT IN MY NAME. I will also file a police report as well. THANK YOU, Deborah Townsend
View full review
Anonymous

FEMA website miss leads you on helping love ones who died of covid-19

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
October 7, 2021 To Whom It May Concern: FEMA website misleads you to believe they will help pay for Covid-19 death of love one. The condition they will pay is you pay for everything in advance then they will reimburse you for everything. What about people like me who doesn't have money to take care of love one final expenses. Why my loved one sits at Funeral Home since September 26, 2021. They are charging me $30 a day for his body sitting until I can find a way to take care of him. FEMA needs to change their program to help people with their loved one's who need help when they don't have money or resources to pay the Funeral. SincerelySadSadSad, Donna Williams
View full review

User's recommendation: Don't go threw FEMA

Anonymous
map-marker Kearny, New Jersey

Funeral

I provided all the documentation that was required in regards to my father Covid diagnosis. I received $3,288.00 and I am wondering why that amount and not $9,000. I spoke with a representative last night and was assured that this would not be the final amount but this morning this amount was deposited into my savings account. Please help me understand.
View full review
1 comment
Guest

at least you got something I have not even got a review since I filed in April

Jonique Iey
map-marker Richmond Hill, Georgia

About my trailer I have a trucking company

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Im looking for some work I have a reefer trailer Can you please give me a call if you need a trucking company what the reefer units to help with the storm in New Orleans I am available 912-572-****
View full review
Jeffery C Dmo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Seeking financial assistance as an Almeda fire victim who was also a Wildlands firefighter for 3bs forestry

I've tried applying for financial assistance as I Lost my home and all belongings in the Almeda fire. I also was a Wildlands firefighter and was told I would be the first to receive assistance in a natural disaster. My name is Jeffery Lee Cann and my lost physical address was 610 N Main St Apt 1C. 2 be townhouse apartment. It was My significant other Krystal, My son Damien and I, who were affected. Please Help! My mailing address now is 8400 division road apt#9 White City, Oregon 97503-****. My email is raidercann38@***.com. My phone number is 541 210 ****. I'm reaching out to avoid having to get a lawyer and take this matter to court
View full review

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

Jenny S Rli

Fraud home repair

Cooksey Construction in Ellisville Ms claims to be a disaster relief company when he is not Licensed or bonded or insuranced and has several Fraud charges against him. Also drug charges and is on parole. That is a disgrace to FEMA that he is advertising this on his truck and HB account. If you would like more info you can call me at 601-935-**** as there is a Hurricane coming .
View full review
Loss:
$12
Cons:
  • Cannot reach someone in the regional headquarters

Preferred solution: Justice

Laurel M Cih

COVID 19 funeral assistance

My elderly father died of COVID 19 in February 2021. I am trying to assist my elderly Mother in obtaining some funeral assistance. Every time I call, I am given a different set of instructions. We gathered all documentation asked for, but when I call, a different rule. guess FEMA saying theyll help with COVID funerals was a joke...
View full review
Pros:
  • Have no idea
Cons:
  • Are too difficult for people who need help to access

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

1 comment
Guest

You are right they are a Joke, this assistance is a scam

Anonymous
map-marker New Orleans, Louisiana

My kitchen floor is full of water pipe busted

My kitchen floor is full of water my drain pipe is busted under my floor my landlord gone for 3 weeks my floors are in bad shape my landlord won't help he said when we move out he would fix the house up he lied to us he told me that he would have someone to fix up the house 3 weeks ago they never came can yall help
View full review

User's recommendation: Do not rent from Pat Murphy

Roger F Qqm

I have termite in my bedrooomes

I have termites in my bedroom on my bed on my walls flying in my room I have roof leaks my floors are bad they put holes in my. brother ceiling to let the water out
View full review

Preferred solution: I would like to get a another house

Anonymous
map-marker New Orleans, Louisiana

I have termite in my bedrooomes

I still have termites In my bedroom they are coming out of my walls I need help have a green note on my window from fema
View full review

User's recommendation: Do not rent from a landlord that a conactor

pat m Wzy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Bon Aqua, Tennessee

It has been almost 3 months since I filed a claim from Hurricane Sally

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have given them all the information that the flood insurance asked for. They reject it everytime wanting more information . This has gone on for almost 3 months . The reason they are giving is that FEMA is denying payment because I don't have a Florida drivers license or fla. voters reg. card. I told them I never had my license changed from Tennessee to Florida because I have businesses in Tennessee and need my Tn. license for check cashing purposes. I sent them a copy of my banking account , doctor bills, utility bills,mu husband's driver's lic. and fla. voters reg. card and they tell me Fema will not accept this as proof of primary residency. What more do you want, Fema ???? I have nothing else to give you !!!! Do I need to obtain an attorney to get you to do your job ???????
View full review
Loss:
$121000

Preferred solution: my check for hurricane damage that occured on 9-15-2020

User's recommendation: Hire an attorney

Jannie D

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Not resolved

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have talked with everyone I could about this issue. No one can give me answers. I am a citizen of USA. I am a white disabled widow and I think I was not the right color, maybe if I were black things would have been different. Discrimination is against the law. I did everything I was told to do and didnt get my cottage I was promised. But others got the one they were promised, I dont believe it was stolen and why could I have gotten a cottage from another location. Thank you
View full review
Loss:
$20000
Pros:
  • Promises
Cons:
  • Did not receive cottage promised

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

About

Summary

FEMA - Federal Emergency Management Agency is a government organization which is called to support citizens in case of extraordinary situations, like a hurricane, an earthquake, a tornado, a flood, a fire or a hazardous spill, an act of nature or an act of terrorism. FEMA ensures citizens that Americans as nation can work together to build, sustain, and increase the capability to prepare , protect , respond, recover , and mitigate all emergency cases or hazards. FEMA counts 7,382 employees across the country working to support citizens. FEMA’s headquarters, are at the ten regional offices, the National Emergency Training Center, Center for Domestic Preparedness, and other locations.

Fema reviews and complaints

Fema is ranked 181 out of 1576 in Governmental Organizations and Politics category

Area Served

USA

Payment Methods

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article